And so Project Life Begins…

I’m getting really excited about my Project Life album for this next year.  I really love the idea, and the concept of how to be able to incorporate a little bit of memory keeping in a little bit of time, in order to have a beautiful album without a ton of work.  Time and space has really been what has kept me from doing much scrapping over the past 4 years (since my oldest was born) and so this system seems to be something that will work for me.

Some people I have seen do a strict week by week approach.  And while that is awesome, I just can’t quite make that kind of commitment just yet.  For me, I will use the Project Life system to easily be able to get all those photos that I take printed and into an album and write at least a little bit of something to help tell the story.

One thing you should know about me and any kind of scrapbooking, I have been notoriously BAD at journaling.  I never feel like I really have much to say, and so most of my older layouts (older, because I haven’t done any in so long) just have a date and event on it… possibly names of people in the photos.  For me, it was more of a pretty way to showcase a photo.

Lately though, I seem to have come out of my rut with journaling, even if it’s only a little bit.  I’m happy to say that I have been better about getting a real story down on paper and telling what actually happened.  I’m not going to feel bad though if I don’t have a huge story for EVERY photo though.  It’s just not going to happen.

So, I bet you really want to see all the goodies I have been working with/on though… huh?

Well, for Christmas the hubby’s Aunt got me the Project Life Amber Kit.  I originally was going to wait for Seafoam, but this one was on my Amazon wish list so this is what I will use.

Project Life Amber KitWhen I first added it to my wish list, it was just “so, so” but now that I have it in my hands, it’s freakin’ Awesome!  So much better in real life rather than on the screen!  I’m really happy with using this kit now.

Of course, I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t purchase a few other items to go with this kit.  I got the blank white cards, as well as the blank grid cards (both in 3×4).  Also, I ordered the 4×6 colored cardstock that coordinates with the kit.  I figure I can use these full size or even cut them in half if I want to use the solids in the 3×4 slots.

I’ve also picked up a few new stamp sets, including Ready Set Go – Clear Acrylic Stamps – Hey There, from the Amy Tangerine collection from American Crafts.

American Crafts - Amy Tangerine Collection - Ready Set Go - Clear Acrylic Stamps - Hey ThereLOVE THEM!

So today, I worked on a few embellishments for some of the 3×4 cards.  I figure I’ll want a little something added on them – so I might as well make up some as I have time.  That way I can just write what I want or add a photo and insert – adding to the ease of assembling this album.  What do you think?

A few PL cards I made...

Cute huh?

  • I’m liking the Charlie Brown effect of the yellow card – I cut it from some double sided cardstock, then cut the chevron from the kraft cardstock, and used my pen to draw in the other chevron lines.  Although, as I look at it now, it’s more of an actual zig-zag rather than a chevron.  Oh well.
  • The “Hello 2013” card is from the kit – I just stuck on some Thickers and stamped my Hello (using the stamp set from above).
  • The “Today” card is also from the kit.  I simply added a little cork ATC card to the front and stamped “TODAY” on a scrap and stapled it together.
  • The red glitter is probably the easiest as well as my favorite!  I have a 6×6 pad of brightly colored glitter paper which I cut to 3×4 and rounded the edges.  I took craft paper and cut the heart and simply stapled it together in the middle.

I plan to start putting my intro/cover page together this weekend so I can be ready to start filling with photos next week.  Since we have a New Years party for work on Monday night, I will likely start there.

Malea

I love comments! Leave one :)

