Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s 6am on Thanksgiving Day. I’ve been up an hour already for no real reason. Not sure why I haven’t been able to sleep well lately. Oh well.

I’m looking forward to spending the day with family. Going to do a little cooking with my Mother in Law and Sister in Law. I’m making the sweet potato casserole and macaroni and cheese. I’m trying new recipes that I found on Pinterest (surprise!) So far, they look great… but I guess we’ll find out later.

Here are the ones I’m trying:
Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese from Budget Savvy Diva

and Sweet Potato Casserole from Saveur.com

Photo Credit: André Baranowski

Last night I cooked my sweet potatoes and mixed up the mixture.  It’s now sitting in the refrigerator waiting to be carried to the in-law’s house to be cooked later.  All that is left to do is chop up the cashew mixture (I plan to add pecans too) and then plop a few hand fulls of marshmallows down on top then bake it.

P.S. I discovered that peeling sweet potatoes is actually kinda fun!  If this goes well, I may volunteer to make it every year.

As for the macaroni and cheese, well… I haven’t started anything with it yet.  I forgot to put the cheddar cheese soup on the grocery list so now I’m waiting to see if there’s anything open so I can stop and get some or if I just need to add extra cheese.  Either way, it will require minimum stovetop time in the kitchen, then I can mix it all in the crock pot and let it do it’s thing.

I figured the crockpot part would be helpful so that other large kitchen appliances were available for other things.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

I love comments! Leave one :)

