Free Pattern: Simple Newborn Hat

Yes, you see that right… I wrote down a pattern. 🙂

I was feeling the need to make a baby hat for a sweet little newborn cousin who we expect to be born very soon, and with all the millions of free patterns available out there, I just wasn’t finding exactly what I wanted. So, I figured I knew enough about crocheting hats that I could just wing it and make up my own pattern. I’m so glad I did… I think it turned out super cute!

I figured that if I was going to write it down then I might as well share it with the world… and so I share with you a super simple basic newborn crochet hat.

**Disclaimer: I am not an expert at crochet. I’ve only been crocheting myself for less than a year. I’ve never written a pattern before, so take this as what it is and use it how you like. Alter to fit your own needs, etc. It’s all good. 😉

Simple Single Newborn Hat

Supplies:

  • Yarn – I used Patons Classic Wool
  • J hook (10 mm)
  • Yarn needle for sewing in ends
  • Scissors
  1. Magic Ring (or ch4 and sl to first ch to form a loop
  2. sc10 in ring
  3. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  4. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 2 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  5. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 3 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  6. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 4 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  7. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 5 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  8. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 6 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  9. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 7 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row
  10. ch1, sc2 in same as ch (sc2, 8 sc1) repeat to end, sl to original ch1 of the same row (this is the end of increase rows) You should have 45 stitches at this point.
  11. ch1, sc1 all the way around
  12. repeat row 11 9 more times
  13. finish off and sew in ends

That’s it! Super simple, super quick, and very versatile. Hope you enjoy!

p.s. I’ll get a picture added soon… promise!

I love comments! Leave one :)

